Pirates Enjoy Cheering on the Hornets in Charlotte

24589504249_89b3288b4f_h

ECU alumni, friends and family gathered in Charlotte to watch the Charlotte Hornets take on the Washington Wizards as part of the East Carolina Alumni Association’s “Bring the Whole Crew” series.

Participants were treated to a delicious pregame meal, which was served by Queen City BBQ, and also had VIP access to the pregame shoot-around.

“I thoroughly enjoyed both the dinner and game; I couldn’t pick one thing,” said Glovette Shannon ’07. “I also liked that it was a ‘Bring the [Whole] Crew’ event. It was a great chance for my family to enjoy the Pirate experience.”

Dominique Womack ’05, who is an account executive for Enterprise Holdings, used the event to catch up with some old friends.

“I found out about the event through a few of my ECU Marching Pirate alumni friends that I try to meet up with monthly. I thought it would be awesome for us to go,” said Womack. “When they said ‘let’s go to Charlotte,’ I put on my fun hat and got on the road!”

The event was a huge success, with 73 attendees descending on Time Warner Cable Arena as they watched the Hornets defeat the Wizards 108-104 in a hard fought contest.

By the end of the evening, everyone left satisfied and excited for the next event.

“I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the opportunity to participate in the event,” said Shannon. “I now check the calendar regularly for similar events.”

Womack echoed a similar response.

“If I had a chance to do it all over again, I definitely would,” said Womack. “Food, drinks, Pirates and sports are my favorite pastimes!”

By Michael Avila and Jackie Drake

Leave a Reply

