Alumna Named Superintendent

DelilahJacksonDelilah Jackson ’90, ’96, ’13 has been named superintendent of Washington County Schools. Her last day as assistant superintendent of human resources for Pitt County Schools was July 16.

“It’s exciting,” Jackson said. “It’s going to be different. I’ve been in human resources for nine years, but everything I’ve learned at Pitt County Schools and at ECU has helped prepare me for my journey.”

Jackson earned her bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees in education from ECU. She has spent 25 years with Pitt County Schools.

“My preparation has been great from the beginning,” she said. “Thanks to the education I received at ECU, I’ve built relationships and learned a lot about running a district. My professors were very honest about the real world; many of them had spent time as principals and superintendents. They helped shape my vision of how to run a district. The education and connections I received at ECU will be a great resource for me in my new position.”

Originally from Hyde County, Jackson was accepted to other schools but chose ECU because of its opportunities and proximity to family. As a teacher at W.H. Robinson Elementary School in Winterville, ECU was a convenient way to advance her career.

“I pride myself on being a Pirate,” Jackson says. “Going to ECU has afforded me many opportunities.”

She concluded, “I thank Pitt County Schools for being my first teacher. I will take the skills I’ve learned here to positively impact another district. My goal is to make a difference in the lives of children and provide opportunities for them to become productive citizens and build relationships with the community.”

Leave a Reply

