Young Alumnus Elected to District Board

matt_aboutBy Sara Strickroot

Matt Overby ’13 was recently elected to the Wake County Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors.

Overby is one member of a five-member board that governs the Wake County Soil and Water Conservation District. The district board helps fund conservation practices that help improve water quality. It also gives support to landowners and land users by assisting in managing water, soil, plants, and animals.

Overby is passionate about protecting North Carolina’s heritage. “I want to preserve North Carolina as our fathers and grandfathers knew it and raised us to love it. I felt that serving as a soil and water supervisor was a good way for me to help preserve that part of who we are as a people,” he says.

His biggest challenge is educating people on why soil and water conservation is so important. “Most people care about the values that we are trying to preserve once they know what it is that we do,” says Overby.

“I’ve always had a love for the culture and people of eastern North Carolina, from everything from country music, to barbeque, to the beach. East Carolina was a perfect fit for me. I also knew ECU had a great liberal arts program which was appealing to me majoring in political science,” says Overby.

While studying at ECU, he was a member of the ECU College Republicans organization.

“I am very proud to be a Pirate. I still have many friends that I met at ECU and keep in touch with some of my political science professors,” Overby says.

Leave a Reply

