Alumna is NC Regional Teacher of the Year

DickersonandKids

By Jackie Drake

North Carolina’s Northeast Regional Teacher of the Year is Jami Dickerson ’08, a third grade teacher at Eastern Elementary in Greenville. The announcement was made during a special ceremony at the school on December 9. Dickerson qualified for the honor after being named the 2013-2014 Pitt County Teacher of the Year in March.

“I’m honored; it’s very humbling,” said Dickerson, who is in her fifth year of teaching. “It’s also mind-blowing. I still can’t believe it happened. It’s been a long process, but it’s gone by fast. I’m excited for things to come.”

Originally from Roanoke Rapids, Dickerson grew up playing soccer and came to play for ECU. “I visited on a recruiting trip and loved the campus and the town. I loved everything about ECU.”

Dickerson had long wanted to be a teacher, but her mother, also a teacher and ECU graduate, counseled her to try other careers first to be sure. Dickerson studied exercise physiology for a year before realizing that her heart lay with helping children, to her mom’s delight.

“I am very happy and proud I went to ECU,” Dickerson says. “Now I have ECU students doing their student teaching with me. The relationship that Pitt County and ECU have is great. I love how our kids that are eight or nine years old all get excited about our university. I’m glad that I have first-hand experience of ECU to share with them.”

Dickerson said her favorite part of teaching is her relationships with the kids. “Nothing is better than a happy child. I love seeing them having fun and enjoying learning.”

Dickerson is one of nine finalists for the the North Carolina Teacher of the Year, who will be announced this spring.

ECUpic

Leave a Reply

